What's Happening?


Royalty Soapie Awards Acting Nominees

Finally. The nominees for the acting categories for the inaugural Royalty Soapie Awards were released early this morning. 

In a video, RSA hosts, Michael Mol and Hlomla Dandala announced the nominees. 

After several glitches, it's good to see that the awards are back on track. They had promised to announce the nominees on 23 October 2013. They delivered. They announced the hosts last week. The date has been set. All that is remaining for the organisers to do is to make sure they deliver an excellent show. 

One thing that I've noticed- are they sure about Michael and Hlomla hosting the awards together? I do wish there was a lady in between the sausage fest. But let's hope that Hlomla and Michael will do research on how to host an awards show successfully. 

We still can't help wonder how the awards would have looked like had e.tv shows, Scandal and Rhythm City not been pulled out of competition. e.tv and its diva antics sometimes. But then with so many delays, can we blame e.tv? We digress.

Mzansi Magic's hit telenovella, Isibaya is leading with 19 nominations in the acting, creative and technical categories. It's a coup for the show, which I just recently learnt was first offered to SABC 1. 

Without much further ado, here are the nominees for the inaugural Royalty Soapie Awards

Outstanding Lead Actor
Menzi Ngubane  as Sibusiso Dlomo  for Generations
Siyabonga Twala  as Mpiyakhe Zungu  for Isibaya
Kevin Smith   as Frank Xavier   for Isidingo
Siyabonga Twala  as Busani Mojalefa  for Muvhango
Shona Ferguson  as Itumaleng   for The Wild
Outstanding Lead Actress

Odelle de Wet   as Delia Richter   for Binneland
Thembi Nyandeni  as Mkabayi Zungu  for Isibaya
Linda Sokhulu   as Nikiwe Sibeko   for Isidingo
Nthabi Tau   as Meiki    for Muvhango
Shaleen Surtie-Richards as Fran Jacobs   for Villa Rosa
Outstanding Male Villain

Andre Odendaal  as AJ/Andries/Dries Richter for Binneland
Bheki Mkhwane  as Samson Ndlovu  for Isibaya
Robert Whitehead  as Barker Heins   for Isidingo
Aubrey Poo   as Lebata    for The Wild
Darren Kelfkens  as Roberto Martinelli Snr  for Villa Rosa
Outstanding Female Villain

Jo da Silva   as Gita McGregor  for 7de Laan
Marisa Drummond  as Alexa    for Binneland
Zenande Mfenyana  as Noluntu Memela  for Generations
Tsholo Monedi   as Meme    for Muvhango
Khabonina Qubeka  as Maxine    for The Wild
Outstanding Soapie

The Wild   

Outstanding Supporting Actor

Hennie Jacobs  as Diederik   for 7de Laan
Ramey Short   as Quinton Meyer  for Binneland
Bongani Gumede  as Mandla Ndlovu  for Isibaya
Sdumo Mtshali   as S'bu Ndlovu   for Isibaya
TY Keogh   as Jack    for The Wild
Outstanding Supporting Actress

Annelize van der Ryst  as Matrone Netta Nortje  for 7de Laan
Sorina Erasmus   as Die Flooze   for 7de Laan
Xoli Zondi   as Zodwa    for Generations
Nomzamo Mbatha  as Thandeka Zungu  for Isibaya
Kgomotso Christopher  as Katlego Sibeko  for Isidingo
Outstanding Couple

Pierre van Pietzen and Annelise Weilan  as  Oubaas van Zyl and Hilda de Kock
for 7de Laan
Sandi Schultz and Gert van Niekerk  as Jennifer Adams and Patrick Myburgh
for Binneland
Sdumo Mtshali and Nomzamo Mbatha  as S'bu Ndlovu and Thandeka Zungu
for Isibaya
Ayanda Ngubane and Celeste Ntuli  as Siphokazi and Phumelele Zungu
for Isibaya
Tema Sebopedi and Motlatsi Mafatshe as Lerato Tsotetsi and Sechaba Moloi 
for Isidingo
Outstanding Newcomer
SimonĂ© Nortmann  as Nadia    for 7de Laan
Anga Makubalo  as MJ Memela   for Generations
Jessica Nkosi   as Qondi    for Isibaya
Liteboho Molise  as Teboho   for Muvhango
Hayley Owen   as Angie    for The Wild

No comments:

Post a Comment