What's Happening?


Film Nominees for the 8th SAFTAs

The nominees for the 8th South African Film and Television Awards, were announced last night. While Isibaya topped the TV nominations, the film nominations were led by the controversial Of Good Report, starring Petronella Tshuma and Mothusi Magano and directed by Jahmil X.T. Qubeka. The film was supposed to open the 2013 Durban International Film Festival, but it wasn't because it was banned because it featured a sexual act between an adult and a minor. It was followed by Sleepers Wake with seven nods. 

Once again, we focus on the main awards (ie. the 'star' awards people care about and not the technical awards)

Best Feature Film
Long Walk to Freedom 
Of Good Report 
Sleeper’s Wake 

Best Director of a Feature Film
Henk Pretorius (Fanie Fourie's Lobola)
Barry Berk (Sleeper’s Wake)
Jahmil X.T. Qubeka (Of Good Report)

Best Actress in a Feature Film
Petronella Tshuma (Of Good Report)
Antoinette Louw  (Die Laaste Tango)
Zethu Dlomo (Fanie Fourie's Lobola)

Best Actor in a Feature Film
Louw Venter (Die Laaste Tango)
Lionel Newton (Sleepers Wake)
Mothusi Magano  (Of Good Report)

Best Supporting Actress in a Feature Film
Marga Van Rooyen (Fanie Fourie's Lobola)
Tina Jaxa Head (Of Good Report)
Linda Sokhulu (Felix)

Best Supporting Actor in a Feature Film
Yule Masiteng (Fanie Fourie’s Lobola)
Tshamano Sebe (Of Good Report)
Thapelo Mofokeng (Felix)

Best Writing Team of a Feature Film
Jahmil X.T. Qubeka (Of Good Report)
Henk Pretorius and Janine Eser (Fanie Fourie's Lobola)
Barry Berk (Sleeper’s Wake)

No comments:

Post a Comment