What's Happening?


Breaking News: Comedian And Actor Marlon Wayans To Host #MTVMAMA via @MTVBaseAfrica

Marlon  Wayans (The New York Times)
The MTV Africa Music Awards are shaping up to be one big party! MTV Base just revealed that comedian and actor Marlon Wayans (The Heat, Scary Movie, White Chicks, In Living Colour, Little Man, Norbit, The Wayans Brothers) will be hosting the MTV MAMAs. Marlon is an experienced awards host, having hosted the 2000 MTV VMAs alongside his brother, Shawn. 

The awards, which will be hosted, for the first time, in South Africa, are turning out to be one cool event. The MAMAs are already boasting an impressive list of performers, from  Nigerian sensations Flavour, Davido and Tiwa Savage, South African hit makers, Uhuru, Oskido, Professor and Mafikizolo. R&B sensation, Miguel and rapper, French Montana are also performing! 

The MTV MAMAs are going to be so big, that we can't help but be excited! What's even more exciting is that the awards will be broadcast LIVE around the world on MTV, MTV Base, BET International and Viacom affiliate stations. That means the world will get to see how vibrant, diverse and world class African music is. 

The Sunday Tribune will be at the MTV MAMA's on June 7th and you WILL get all the details on the issue of the 8th June 2014. From what happened, who won what, who wore what, who came with whom etc. We'll be out in our numbers to bring you the biggest night in African music! 

The nominees were announced last month, on April 16. If you didn't see who was nominated, here's the full list below


Best Male:
Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Donald (South Africa)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female:
Arielle T (Gabon)
Chidinma (Nigeria)
DJ C’ndo (South Africa)
Efya (Ghana)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Group:
Big Nuz (South Africa)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
P Square (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act:
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Heavy K (South Africa)
Phyno (Nigeria)
Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
Uhuru (South Africa)

Best Live Act:
2face (Nigeria)
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Dr Malinga (South Africa)
Zakes Bantwini (South Africa)

Best Collaboration:
Amani ft Radio and Weasel – ‘Kiboko Changu’ (Kenya/Uganda)
Diamond feat Davido – ‘Number One’ (Remix) (Tanzania/Nigeria)
Mafikizolo feat May D – ‘Happiness’ (South Africa/Nigeria)
R2bees feat Wizkid – ‘Slow Down’ (Ghana/Nigeria)
Uhuru feat DJ Buckz, Oskido, Professor, Yuri Da Cunha – ‘Y-tjukutja’ (South Africa/Angola)

Artist of the Year:
Davido (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
P Square (Nigeria)
Uhuru (South Africa)

Song of the Year:
Davido- ‘Skelewu’ (Nigeria)
DJ Clock feat Beatenberg – ‘Pluto’ (Remember Me) (South Africa)
DJ Ganyani feat FB – ‘Xigubu’ (South Africa)
DJ Kent feat The Arrows –‘Spin My World Around’ (South Africa)
Dr Sid feat Don Jazzy – ‘Surulere’ (Nigeria)
KCee - ‘Limpopo’ (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo feat Uhuru ‘Khona’ (South Africa)
Mi Casa- ‘Jika’ (South Africa)
P Square – ‘Personally’ (Nigeria)
Yuri Da Cunha -‘Atchu Tchu Tcha’ (Angola)

Best Hip Hop:
AKA (South Africa)
Ice Prince (Nigeria)
Khuli Chana (South Africa)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best Pop:
Danny K (South Africa)
Fuse ODG (Ghana)
Goldfish (South Africa)
LCNVL (South Africa)
Mathew Mole (South Africa)

Best Alternative:
Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)
Michael Loman (South Africa)
Nakhane Toure (South Africa)
Parlotones (South Africa)
Shortstraw (South Africa)

Best Francophone:
Arielle T (Gabon)
Espoir 2000 (Ivory Coast)
Ferre Gola (DRC)
Toofan (Togo)
Youssoupha (Congo)

Best Lusophone:
Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
JD (Angola)
Lizha James (Mozambique)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)


Personality of the Year:
Chimamanda Adiche – Writer (Nigeria)
Omotola Jalade Ekeinde - Actress (Nigeria)
Trevor Noah- Comedian (South Africa)
Lupita Nyong’o - Actress (Kenya)
Yaya Toure - Soccer Player (Cote d’Ivoire) 

Transform Today by Absolut
Anisa Mpungwe (Tanzania)
Clarence Peters (Nigeria)
Leti Arts (Ghana)
Rasty (South Africa)

MTV Base Leadership Award
Ashish Thakkar (Tanzania)
Humphrey Nabimanya (Uganda)
Ludwick Marishane (South Africa)
Dr Sandile Kubheka (South Africa)
Toyosi Akerele (Nigeria).

No comments:

Post a Comment