What's Happening?


TCA Awards 2014 Nominations

It's now time for the TV critics to put their words where their mouths (or in this case, articles) are, with the release of the nominees for the TCA Awards 2014. 

The Television Critics Association Awards, are awards presented by the Television Critics Association in recognition of excellence in television. Television Critics Association is a group of approximately 200 United States and Canadian journalists and columnists who cover television programming. The awards were first handed out in 1985. This year marks the 30th edition of the TCA Awards. 

True Detective is leading the nominees, with four nods. The popular HBO mini-series anthology drama, which starred Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson. The second season is in pre-production, with the casting process about to begin to find the new detectives for the second edition of the show. 

The TCA Awards will take place after the TCA Summer Press Tour. The winners will be announced on July 19, 2014,  at a ceremony expected to be held at The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, California. No word if the TCA will be boycotting the hotel, after the Sultan of Brunei homophobia scandal. 

Anyway, here are the nominees

Outstanding Achievement in Drama
“The Americans” (FX)
“Breaking Bad” (AMC)
“Game of Thrones” (HBO)
“House of Cards” (Netflix)
“The Good Wife” (CBS)

Individual Achievement in Drama
Bryan Cranston, “Breaking Bad” (AMC)
Julianna Margulies, “The Good Wife” (CBS)
Tatiana Maslany, “Orphan Black” (BBC America) 
Matthew McConaughey, “True Detective” (HBO)
Matthew Rhys, “The Americans” (FX)
Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming
“The Amazing Race” (CBS)
“RuPaul’s Drag Race” (Logo)
“Shark Tank” (ABC)
“Survivor” (CBS)
“The Voice” (NBC)
Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming
“Adventure Time” (Cartoon Network)
“Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood” (PBS)
“The Fosters” (ABC Family)
“Sesame Street” (PBS)
“Switched at Birth” (ABC Family)
Outstanding New Program
“Brooklyn Nine-Nine” (Fox)
“Fargo” (FX)
“Orange Is the New Black” (Netflix)
“Sleepy Hollow” (Fox)
“True Detective” (HBO)
Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials
“American Horror Story: Coven” (FX)
“Broadchurch” (BBC America)
“Fargo” (FX)
“The Returned” (SundanceTV)
“True Detective” (HBO)
Individual Achievement in Comedy
Louis C.K., “Louie” (FX)
Mindy Kaling, “The Mindy Project” (Fox)
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep” (HBO)
Jim Parsons, “The Big Bang Theory” (CBS)
Amy Poehler, “Parks and Recreation” (NBC)
Outstanding Achievement in Comedy
“The Big Bang Theory” (CBS)
“Brooklyn Nine-Nine” (Fox)
“Louie” (FX)
“The Mindy Project” (Fox)
“Veep” (HBO)
Career Achievement Award
Mark Burnett
James Burrows
Valerie Harper
Jay Leno
William Shatner
Outstanding Achievement in News and Information
“CBS Sunday Morning” (CBS)
“Cosmos” (Fox)
“The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” (Comedy Central)
“Frontline” (PBS)
“60 Minutes” (CBS)
Heritage Award
“Lost” (ABC)
“Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
“South Park” (Comedy Central)
“Star Trek” (NBC)
“Twin Peaks” (ABC)
Program of the Year
“Breaking Bad” (AMC)
“Game of Thrones” (HBO)
“The Good Wife” (CBS)
“Orange Is the New Black” (Netflix)
“True Detective” (HBO)

No comments:

Post a Comment