What's Happening?


Nominees List for the 2nd @SoapieAwards

The nominees party for the 2nd annual Royalty Soapie Awards, the brainchild of former Generations actress, Winnie Ntshaba, took place on Thursday in Jo'burg. 

From the pictures we saw of the event, it seems the industry has finally decided to support the awards, which is a step in the right direction. Soapies are big in SA. Dramas and comedy play second fiddle to soapies when it comes to TV in SA and it's great that the industry is giving the awards a chance. It's also good to see that e.tv didn't pull diva stunts this year and entered the awards. Good move. 

Now Isibaya won the most awards last year and they are, once again, leading with the most awards nominations, alongside e.tv's Scandal, at 16 each. SABC 2's 7de Laan is a close third with 14 nominations. 

It's surprising that after such a turnaround by SABC 3's Isidingo, they don't feature as prominently as they should, especially since the show and quality of acting was head and shoulders above all the soapies last year. But at least the main actors were nominated for their excellent work. 

The awards will take place on 28 March 2015 in Durban and will be hosted by the Goliath's- Jason and Donovan. 

Here is the nominees list for the performance categories. 


Outstanding Lead Actor
Motlatsi Mafatshe as Sechaba for Isidingo
Siyabonga Thwala as Mpiyakhe Zungu for Isibaya
Theodore Jantjies as Xander Meintjies for 7de Laan
Vusi Kunene as Jefferson Sibeko for Isidingo
Zane Meas as Neville Meintjies for 7de Laan

Outstanding Lead Actress
Kgomotso Christopher as Katlego for Isidingo
Marjorie Langa as Gloria Rangaka for Scandal
Masasa Mbangeni as Thembeka Shezi for Scandal
Thembi Nyandeni as Mkabayi Zungu for Isibaya
Vinette Ebrahim as Charmaine Meintjies for 7de Laan

Outstanding Male Villain
André Lötter as Liamle Roux for Villa Rosa
Robert Whitehead as Barker Haines for Isidingo
Sello Maake Ka-Ncube as Lucas Nyathi for Scandal
Vusi Kunene as Bhekifa for Isibaya
Wilhelm van der Walt as Tyrone (TY) for 7de Laan

Outstanding Female Villain
Dawn Matthews as Shakira Willemse for Scandal
Jo da Silva as Gita McGregor for 7de Laan
Mampho Brescia as Iris for Isibaya
Therese Benadé as Astrid Wentzel for Villa Rosa

Outstanding Supporting Actor
Andile Sithole as Ndumiso Ngcobo for Scandal
Bongani Gumede as Mandla Ndlovu for Isibaya
Jody Abrahams as Marcel Beauchamp for Scandal
Kaz McFadden as Dewald for 7de Laan
Zakhele Mabasa as S’khaleni for Isibaya

Outstanding Supporting Actress
Dorette Potgieter as Wanda for Villa Rosa
Mampho Brescia as Iris for Isibaya
Mapaseka Koetle as Dintle Setuke for Scandal
Natasha Sutherland as Layla Mckenzie for Scandal
Nomzamo Mbatha as Thandeka for Isibaya

Outstanding Newcomer
Andile Gumbi as Zweli for Isibaya
Buhle Samuels as Matshidiso for Muvhango
Fulu Mugovhani as Anzani Muneri for Scandal
Izak Davel as Bradley for Isidingo
Tessa Holloway as Sonja for 7de Laan

Most Popular Soapie
7de Laan
Rhythm City
Villa Rosa


No comments:

Post a Comment