What's Happening?


Cassper leads SA's nominees at the #MTVMAMA2015

South African artists have scored a total of 24 nominations from 70 nominees across 13 categories. The nominees were revealed at Harem, nightclub in Johannesburg last night. Attendees included nominees Cassper Nyovest, Black Motion, and Bucie amongst others.

Leading the SA pack is Cassper Nyovest with three monitions. In Best New Act, Best Hip Hop and Song of the Year. Cassper has won a total of 16 awards so far for his debut album, Tsholofelo. He cleaned up at the Channel O Music Video Awards, the Metro FM Music Awards and walked away with a SAMA in April. Will his award count increase on that night?

Tailing close behind Cassper Nyovest, is rapper, K.O. industry stage name, who bagged two nominations: Song of the Year for Caracara and Best Hip Hop. Caracara was a massive hit in 2014, with the video boosting close to two million views.

AKA has also matched the King of Skhanda rap, also bagging himself two nominations respectively. The self proclaimed prince of Hip Hop lost out this time by not securing the Best Hip Hop nom, instead he is up for Best Male and Best Collaboration.

Only two female South African artists will be repping SA at the award ceremony, to be held in Durban ICC on the 18th July. The queen of rachetness Busiswa Gqulu (she literally has t-shirts she wears on stage emblazoned with the word 'ratchet') popularly known as the Kalawa Chikita is up for the "Best Female"gong. Busiswa shot to fame with her hit song Nguko.

Tagging along with one nomination songstress Bucie, who is also up for the Best Female title. The 28-year-old's "Easy To Love" single peaked at number 9 on South Africa's official music chart.

Other South African nominees include:

Best Group

Black Motion

Up for Best New Act
Duncan (alongside Cassper)

Up for Song of the year
Dj Fisherman and NaakMusiQ ft Dj Tira, Danger and Dream Team : "Call Out"
Euphonik ft Mpumi :"Busa"

Up for Best Live Act
Big Nuz (um, REALLY????)
Mi Casa


Up for Video of the year
Prime Circle: "Doors"
Riky Rick: "Nafukwa"

Up for Best Pop and Alternative
Jeremy Loops
Prime Circle

Up for Best Personality
Bonang Matheba (She freaked out on Twitter!)
Trevor Noah (Will he host?)

Winners of the MTV Africa Music Awards will be revealed on the 18th July, during a live broadcast across Africa. on MTVbase. The show will also be watched by millions across the globe on BET international.  If you want to go, tickets go on sale from on Thursday. Plus, you can vote for your favourite artists on mama.mtv.com.

Story by Andrew Robertson for IOL MOJO

No comments:

Post a Comment